Formation of our solar system

The solar system formed from a condensed region in a local dust cloud. Nearby enourmous explosions messed up the equilibrium of the dust cloud about five billion years ago.  This created a bunch of density at the center of the usniverse, where our Sun formed.

Objects found in our solar system

Mercury, Venus, Earth, Moon, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto

 The solar system includes billions of items. The central part of the system is the Sun (Sol) and that is why it is called "sol"ar system. From there other bodies rotate around the Sun's center of gravity in various orbits. They range from planets and their moons (though the moons do not orbit the sun directly) to comets, asteroids, meteors and other space debris.


how scientists measure distance in space

Distances are measured in either one of the standard units (miles, meters, etc.,) or in AU, which is an astronomical unit. An AU is equal to the average distance between the earth and the sun. Distance can also be measured in parsecs, which is one second of parallax arc when measuring parallax shifts, or in light years, which is the distance that light can travel in one year.

distances between the sun and the different planets

Mercury --- 0.38700 A.U.(57,909,100 km)

Venus --- 0.72320 A.U.(108,208,930 km)

Earth --- 1.00000 A.U.(149,597,887.5 km)

Mars --- 1.52330 A.U.(227 939 100 km)

Jupiter --- 5.20250 A.U.(778,547,200 km)

Saturn --- 9.53870 A.U.(1,433,449,370 km)

Uranus --- 19.19110 A.U.(2,876,679,082 km)

Neptune --- 30.06010 A.U.(4,503,443,661 km)

order of the planets from the sun









WHy pluto is not part of our solar system anymore

One reason why is because it is too far away from the sun and another reason is because it is too small that it can not be included as a planet. It is even smaller than the moon.

interesting facts about solar system

The Solar System consists of the Sun and the astronomical objects bound to it by gravity, all of which formed from the collapse of a giant molecular cloud approximately 4.6 billion years ago. Of the many objects that orbit the Sun, most of the mass is contained within eight relatively solitary planets whose orbits are almost circular and lie within a nearly flat disc called the ecliptic plane. The four smaller inner planets, Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars, also called the terrestrial planets, are primarily composed of rock and metal. The four outer planets, the gas giants, are substantially more massive than the terrestrials. The two largest, Jupiter and Saturn, are composed mainly of hydrogen and helium; the two outermost planets, Uranus and Neptune, are composed largely of ices, such as water, ammonia and methane, and are often referred to separately as "ice giants".

The solar wind, a flow of plasma from the Sun, creates a bubble in the interstellar medium known as the heliosphere, which extends out to the edge of the scattered disc. The hypothetical Oort cloud, which acts as the source for long-period comets, may also exist at a distance roughly a thousand times further than the heliosphere.

Six of the planets and three of the dwarf planets are orbited by natural satellites, usually termed "moons" after Earth's Moon. Each of the outer planets is encircled by planetary rings of dust and other particles.